XLR8R​+​012 (Tom Trago, Deniro, Tracey, and Darling)

by XLR8R+

subscriber exclusive


Welcome to the 12th edition of XLR8R+.

For this particular edition, we’ve worked with Tom Trago, who has curated the music to shine a light on the Dutch scene whence he came. As with Bjarki in our 10th edition, we asked Trago to put forward three artists from his home country to each provide a track, with the following criteria: Trago needed to have been impressed by their work; and priority should be given to under-the-radar artists. With this in mind, Trago chose Deniro, Tracey, and Darling; and in addition to this, he’s offered a bonus track himself, and a hefty sample pack too.

Up first is Deniro, real name Reynier Hooft van Huijsduijnen, one of the most promising new techno talents rising from The Netherlands. His contribution, “Accelerated,” is a twinkling slice of melodic techno, as delightful through headphones as it is ready for the club. He’s followed by Tracey, who, with the release of his ‘Biostar’ LP, became the first new signing to Lawrence’s Dial imprint in a decade. “Moonchild,” a live studio jam, has a slow, dreamy buildup to an even dreamier mid-section. Closing the package is Darling, an alias of Anton Pieete, an unsung hero of Amsterdam. “Enibas” is a more driving, high-energy affair; it’s a club-ready night-time jam that’ll make you want to close your eyes and move to the beats.

Bonuses for this edition are numerous. In there, you’ll find a track from Tom Trago titled “Cockayne,” the bassline of which dates back to his ‘The Light Fantastic’ album. Its name means a land of plenty in medieval myth, an imaginary place of extreme luxury and ease where physical comforts and pleasures are always immediately at hand and where the harshness of medieval peasant life does not exist.

There’s also a sample pack from Trago, with sounds many of you will recognize, and we’ve also included a Tracey podcast ahead of its publication on the XLR8R site, as well as a ‘Studio Essentials’ feature with Darling, and a ‘Get Familiar’ interview with Deniro.

Artwork on this occasion comes from Sweden’s Kalle Mattson.

Thank you for joining the movement.

The XLR8R team.


released June 5, 2019

Track 1 written and produced by Reynier Hooft van Huijsduijnen.
Track 2 written and produced by Tom Ruijg.
Track 3 written and produced by Anton Pieete.
Track 4 written and produced by Tom Trago
All tracks mastered by Kamran Sadeghi.

Artwork by Kalle Mattsson.

Design by Rhys Carlill.


all rights reserved



XLR8R+ Los Angeles, California

contact / help

Contact XLR8R+

Streaming and
Download help

If you like XLR8R+, you may also like: